The Birth of Copper Crow

My identity used to be pretty concrete: lesbian. photographer. kinda hipster. After I met my wife, it got a little more complicated and a little more beautiful. Now, we have a son (two months old), and it’s more beautiful (albeit messy) than I ever thought it could be. But just as our house is a thousand times more out of order, so is my identity. You see, I’ve put my MFA on hold for a bit in order to take a Mommy Sabbatical. It’s hard to believe that just three months ago I was rushing to turn in papers and grade exams for my surrogate babies: college freshmen. Now, I’m Mommy. And as much as I love it, I’m struggling to find what that means for Old Me.

Naturally, when one has an identity crisis, she seeks out a blow torch. And in between dirty diapers and the shortest nap times you can possibly imagine, she torches some clay and realizes it’d make some damn good jewelry.

I’m a photography major, so I’m not going to pretend to know everything about the art of jewelry making. Or motherhood. But I’m here to figure it out. Maybe sell a few pieces along the way. Maybe find a new part of myself I didn’t know existed. Maybe just change more dirty diapers. Either way, I’m here.

Leave a Reply

